cooking · parenting

Energy bliss balls

I’ve seen bliss balls popping up all over the Internet, you know the ones – raw energy, naturally boosting, protein heavy squishy balls of deliciousness that you’re meant to keep in the fridge (or freezer) for a week (or a month!) And not scoff all in one sitting. They’re designed to give you that little surge of energy when needed, pretty-workout, post-workout, or if you’re like me and have a toddler to chase; mid morning, when you really need a sit down but there’s no clear surface to sit on. 

They always look delicious but they always contain at least one ingredient that isn’t in my staples and that seems pricey to buy just for one recipe, or things for actual athletes (protein powders etc)

So I shrugged my shoulders and said “meh, I’ll chuck some stuff in and see what happens” which is what I usually do with recipes – not always with great results I might add!

I only have a hand blender with a small food processing attachment so I can’t make large batches, that’s probably a good thing because there’s no guarantee a large batch would last longer than a small batch. 

So this is how I do it;

Chuck in handfuls of delicious ingredients that take my fancy, for example the one pictured here has:

  • Walnuts
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Hemp hearts
  • Prunes
  • Sultanas

I then add a dusting of cocoa powder because… chocolate… and blend it all up. Next I add enough liquid to combine it, I used coconut oil and honey on these ones but peanut butter is delicious too!

Then just scoop them out, roll into balls and roll in your preferred deliciousness. I rolled in dessicated coconut but cocoa powder works just as well.

Pop in the fridge to go solid then try not to eat them all at once. Or do. No judgement here.
I’d love to hear your favourite combinations!

One thought on “Energy bliss balls

  1. I used to make a version of these when I worked in a cafe, they were a huge seller! I always rolled them in coconut as they look so pretty. The ingredients would change as I’d just shove in whatever we had at the time, but always included dates and raisins, a selection of nuts and seeds and cacoa nibs. Always delicious! I would also do a version with roasted nuts which is also good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

