cooking

Ginger cordial

I don’t know about you but I love ginger, I love the tingly lipped spiciness of it, ginger beer and cordial are some of my favourite things to drink so I just had to try my hand at making it myself.  

I wasn’t feeling brave enough to attempt fermenting ginger beer so I scoured the Internet for a ginger cordial recipe.

There are plenty out there and one or two I made were tasty but just too sugary and not “smack you in the mouth” gingery enough for me. So I attempted my own.

It’s not perfect, it needs tweaking but it’s got a lovely fresh spiciness to it and can take adapted to taste. 

This is the recipe I used;

  • 5 inches of ginger
  • 1 ltr of water
  • 1/8 cup of golden caster sugar
  • 1 lemon

Method:

Peel the ginger and cut into small cubes, you could grate it but I found the chopping easier. 

Bring 1ltr water to the boil and add the ginger, rind and juice of 1 lemon. Bring back to the boil and add the sugar, stirring until it is dissolved.

Once the sugar is dissolved put a lid on the saucepan and leave it overnight. I left mine for about 24 hours but you can taste it and see when it seems good to you. 

Once it’s done strain into a jug and pour into a bottle. Store in the fridge and dilute to taste.

I love this hot or cold.

Once you’ve strained it, don’t throw that ginger away!  Save it for using in baking, sweetened ginger is delicious in cookies and cake!

Leave a Reply

