plastic free july · reduce waste

Let’s get wrapping!

I’ve coveted beeswax wraps ever since I discovered them, they just sound so fancy and look great! The problem was that they’re quite pricey and I couldn’t really find a use to justify buying them.

You see, wedon’t use cling film, there’s a roll in the drawer that I can’t remember buying and we just sort of work around it, we don’t find we need it but there are times when you need something and you’re all out of jam jars… foil or a little zip lock bag maybe… but not often enough to justify the cost.

Then I discovered that people were making their own beeswax wraps and thought “I can do that!” I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me before. I always have scraps of fabric around (usually  bought for a project I never started) and I happened to have some beeswax from waxing the little rainbow pegs dolls I make so I went to work!

They came out great, but I had one or two issues along the way; they took more wax than I had anticipated meaning I had to put my first sheet in for a second round. It was also tricky to get an even spread with a paintbrush as it got clumpy as it cooled, the second sheet went much better but still, next time I’d use a silicone pastry brush. I have put my method below but there are lots out there if you have a Google!

Equipment 

  • Baking sheet
  • Cotton fabric (salvaged, bought specially or leftovers) cut to size
  • Paintbrush or silicone pastry brush
  • 100% beeswax
  • Grater (negated if you buy beeswax pellets)
  • Pegs and place to peg them

Method 

Preheat the oven to 75°c

Cut your fabric to the size you require, I went with 8 x 12 inches as that was the size of my baking sheet and it seemed a good size to wrap a block of cheese (probably what I’ll use it for most). I used pinking shears so no need to hem.

Grate your beeswax and spread evenly over the sheet (if using pellets then no need to grate)

Pop into the over for around 3 minutes or until the wax is melted. It’s important to keep looking/checking as this can happen really quickly.

Bring out of the oven and spread the wax with your brush.

Return to the oven if needed to melt further.

Peg to a suitable line/surface to dry. I pegged mine to the edge of my radiator (switched off).

Easy as that. I’d say it takes some practice and trial and error but the great thing is that you can’t really mess it up. If you end up with un-waxed areas you can just reheat with a bit more wax.

They’re surface washable, cool water and a little soap but a wipe down is probably enough. I think the wax will likely crack/wear off after a few months of use but then you can just redo them.

I’ve put mine to use a few times already, one now permanently houses my “old dough” for baking and I plan to make a few more for wrapping on the go snacks.

4 thoughts on “Let’s get wrapping!

  1. This is such a cool idea! I definitely need to try it when I get time, I use so much cling film at the moment and really want to stop but didn’t know what to use instead.

    Like

  2. This is so neat and seems pretty easy to do. I’ll have to try it! I’m not 100% sure what all I would use it for, but it will be fun to have on hand. (And I love that cow print!)

    Like

    1. I was exactly the same, had no idea what I’d use it for so I only made 2 wraps. Now I need to make more because I use them for everything!! One is in permanent use for my “old dough” fro bread making and the other currently has some lovely packaging free cheese wrapped in it. It’s definitely worth trying, and even better with some funky fabric.

      Like

Leave a Reply

