plastic free july

Scrubby Face

Cleanse, tone, moisturise… I never really got the hang of all that. I’d go through fits and bursts of buying all the paraphernalia that goes with it and keeping a routine up for approximately one day then the bottles and cotton wool would sit there on my bathroom shelf making it look, for any passing visitor, like I knew what I was doing. 

Even when I was a teen and going through khol liner like nobody’s business I would mostly give my makeup a passing swipe with a wet corner of the towel (much to the horror of my mother).

I fully embraced the disposable face wipe, you know the ones, they come 25 to a packet and cost anywhere from £2.50 to over a tenner and promise to remove makeup, cleanse and tone all in one. 

I used these regularly to remove eye makeup (I never worse full face makeup) until it just became less and less important to wear makeup or rub my face with itchy, irritating, fragranced, tissues.

I realised that on days I didn’t wear makeup my face wasn’t suffering from being washed in just water and my bin wasn’t filling up with these little disposable wipes. I knew there had to be a better alternative for my skin and my budget, and if it was kinder to the planet all the better.

This is what I (and seemingly millions of other Internet users) came across, reusable face scrubbies. So working with the resources I had to hand (cotton yarn and my ability to crochet) I whipped up my first set of these beauties.

100% brushed cotton crochet face scrubbies.
I use them with plain tap water but they can be used with conventional cleansers/toners or coconut oil is brilliant for makeup removal. They wash well, either by hand or machine, dry quickly and are super gentle on your skin. 

I love knowing that I’m not sending packaging and wipes to landfill, that I’m not spending £36.50 a year on face wipes and that I’m not subjecting my skin to harsh chemicals.  

You can make your own really easily (there are lots of patterns online) or I sell sets of 5 over on my etsy store and Facebook page, in fact I’m giving a set away* on my Facebook page in honor our of Plastic Free July so don’t miss out! 

*UK residents only

3 thoughts on “Scrubby Face

  1. The cotton scrub pad is so unique! Unfortunately I live in the states and can’t purchase 😦 Please check out my latest post I’d you get the chance, it’s a special one, and it’d mean a lot! Xx

    Like

    1. Aw thanks for such a lovely comment. I’m sure you can find some lovely makers on etsy that are in the USA. My business is just small at the moment so my insurance doesn’t cover overseas postage, hopefully as I grow it will! Will pop over to your post now x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! And that’s totally fine, I’ll probably find some on the internet somewhere

        Like

Leave a Reply

