plastic free july

Brush-a, brush-a, brush-a.

Reducing the plastic that comes out of your bathroom is much easier than you might think. 

At the start of 2016 I was due a new toothbrush so I opted for a bamboo one, a quick Google will reveal that finding a bamboo toothbrush is easy peasy but finding one that’s 100% waste free is super tricky! 

After lots of reading I opted for one from Save Some Green the bristles aren’t bamboo on these brushes but they are biodegradable (according to the site) and come packaged entirely plastic free. 

I got one for Baby Bear too and we both love them. If I’m honest, I was really sceptical about it to begin with but the bamboo is super smooth and doesn’t go rough or soggy. After doing my research I was worried about the brush shedding bristles but that hasn’t happened at all and it doesn’t feel that much different than a plastic brush.

I look forward to trying other brands in future, and I love that I won’t be filling up landfill with toothbrushes!

One thought on “Brush-a, brush-a, brush-a.

  1. I’ve also just got a bamboo toothbrush! Not used it yet as I’m waiting for my old plastic one to get old, but I can’t wait to try it. About a month ago I really started looking at what we used and I was surprised at how much plastic is actually in my house and how much waste we produce! We have now started switching to recycled or biodegradable products as our old stuff gets worn out. Also started composting and can’t believe how much stuff we were throwing away before! The more you look the more you start to see how bad your lifestyle is for the planet. So now I’m looking into alternatives where I can and there is so much out there! Just started my Xmas shopping (early I know but easier to spread the cost!) And have found some great toys made from recycled materials or biodegradable materials for my babies first Christmas, even managed to find recycled wrapping paper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

