plastic free july

From shampoo to nopoo 


I really don’t want to write a blog post on no-poo, there are hundreds out there each telling you the pros and cons of their preferred method. (I know because I think I read them all before ditching my shampoo.) But I can’t leave it out of #plasticfreejuly since the amount of shampoo & conditioner used causes mountains of plastic waste.

When I started I was fully overwhelmed by all the info out there so I jumped in using the ingredients I had to hand -bicarb and vinegar. It was good, my hair felt clean and light, it was shiny and manageable. I’m not going to lie, I was surprised!

That was 7 months ago, my nopoo method has changed through that time and I’m sure it will continue to change. I now water wash every few days and egg wash every few weeks. I use a dry shampoo in between times which is a mix of cornflour and cinnamon and comb with a wide toothed wooden comb before bed. 

My hair feels great; thick, bouncy and soft. It’s the most manageable it’s ever been and lovely and shiny. I’m sure my hair has benefitted from me not messing around with it too much, it’s coped well, even thrived, with the neglect that life with a busy toddler has brought to it and no, it doesn’t smell, honest.

Nopoo can feel like a big step, if it’s not for you but you still want to cut out those bottles there are some awesome shampoo bars out there that come packaged in paper or card.

8 thoughts on “From shampoo to nopoo 

  1. I have read several articles and personal account of the no-poo method. I would love to try it but I work out daily (running, yoga, biking, hiking) and am not sure how this would work, I obviously would need to clean/rinse my hair daily. Any suggestions?

    Like

    1. I am so glad to here that “no poo” worked for you. As soon as I finish up using the shampoo and conditioner I have left, I am going to try the shampoo bar. I too am tired of all the plastic bottles just from hair products alone!
      Good for you!

      Like

    2. I think the transition period may be a bit harder for you but I know no-pooers (doesn’t sound right…) who work out daily and will do a water rinse in the shower then apply a little essential oil for a nice smell. I’d think that dry shampoo would be really good too. I wish I could help but my daily workout is chasing a toddler!

      Like

  2. I’d love to try this as I’m trying to cut down on packaging as much as possible. Thing is I dye my hair so I’m wondering if it would fade the colour quicker or actually help keep it? Any ideas? I’ve tried shampoo bars but they strip the colour out so fast.

    Like

  3. I too ditched shampoo and conditioner a couple of years ago and I reckon my hair has definitely been shinier, although it doesn’t always sit as well as it did beforehand. However, that doesn’t worry me too much. I have been using a shampoo bar and then rinsing my hair with a blend of apple cider vinegar and water (1 tbsp vinegar: 1 cup water). I was hesitant at first because I’d used shampoo and conditioner my entire life and also because the shampoo bars seemed expensive, however it seems to last forever. Saving money is an added bonus!

    Like

Leave a Reply

