cooking · plastic free july

Sauerkraut

A really fun part of our journey into reduced waste has been making at home the things we would have originally bought without thinking about it.

My partner takes lots of pickles and fermented things with him for lunch each day so it seemed an appropriate challenge to make my own sauerkraut.
The first batch I made was super salty but after a quick trip to the Internet I was able to save it and it went on to become lovely… or so I’m told, I didn’t eat any of it. I’m still learning to like fermented goodness, I’m a way off loving it yet!

So on to our next batch, this time I’m being super adventurous and making it with red cabbage!

I’ve got a feeling my nails will be purple for a week but it looks so great in the jar!

I can’t take any credit here, I followed instructions on how to make sauerkraut in a mason jar from www.thekitchn.com

But as a brief run through:

I sliced 1 medium cabbage to ribbons and massaged with 1 1/2 tablespoons salt for 10 mins.

Then i packed it into a 2lt flip top jar, weighed it down with a (clean) jam jar of water and covered with a cloth (secured with an elastic band).

Next is pressing it every few hours for a couple of days and making sure the cabbage stays submerged for 3-10 days. My last batch was good to eat by day 7.

I found this super simple to follow so if you’re interested do take a look at the link.

I’d love to hear about things you’ve fermented!

Leave a Reply

