plastic free july

Bring your own packaging

ā€‹
Unnecessary packaging can be a real pain but there are times when packaging is an absolute necessity, you won’t get far carrying loose lentils in your shopping basket, or saying “no packaging please” at the deli counter and having to walk home holding ham slices in your palm. Luckily there is an answer, you can bring your own containers! I’ve never been refused, anywhere, when I’ve brought my own produce bags or containers. 

I’m especially lucky to have a great store with bulk bins right on my doorstep. They are more than happy for me to fill up my cloth sacks with oats, seeds and legumes. I can get my bread without packaging and I’ve even gotten my deli snacks in my own container all without a second glance. It can feel daunting to begin with but I’ve use my own bags/containers at markets and supermarkets too! 

Even with limited sewing skills cloth produce bags are easily whipped up, but thanks to the popularity of the #zerowaste movement you can also buy them in all manner of styles, fabrics and patterns. 

Try replacing one single use bag with a cloth produce bag and see how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

